PostHeaderIcon BoxScore Baseball Fun Facts

First Computer: In 1989, I purchased my first computer for BoxScore Baseball. After careful deliberation, I decided to buy a computer with no hard drive inside of it because I determined that a hard drive would be an unnecessary frill.

The first MLB player ever drafted in a BoxScore Baseball draft: As unlikely as it may seem, the very first player ever drafted in a BoxScore Baseball draft was Todd Zeile taken by Andy Bylski in 1990. Originally, we used to draft by position—catchers, then first basemen, then second basemen, etc. Back then, Zeile was a very highly regarded Cardinal 3b prospect who had eligibility at catcher.

The Sporting News Fantasy Challenge: In 1993, your humble commissioner parlayed his experience with fantasy baseball into a National Championship in The Sporting News Mid-Season Baseball Challenge. Actually, I had two entries in the contest and managed to finish in first and second place nationally to earn $17,460.

BoxScore Baseball Software: A new software program to generate our biweekly reports was first created in 1994. Each time that update ran, it took 12 hours to complete. And at the end of that process if there was an error, it was 12 more hours to run it again. Today, those same reports can be generated almost instantaneously while the games are still in progress.

Ginger Lee: In 1999 BoxScore Baseball hired a professional model for its print ads for baseball and Survival Game Football

Strongest BoxScore Baseball League Ever: While admittedly highly subjective, the original Ultimate League 3 from 1998 included 12 owners who eventually combined to win a staggering 110 league pennants and 15 National Championships. The league included 5 future Hall of Fame owners. Also a member was Charlie “The Godfather” Wiegert (who later became the founder of CDM Fantasy Sports).

Most Dominate BoxScore Football Single Season: Rick Garlinghouse became the only owner in BoxScore Football history to win the championship in both BoxScore Football Leagues in the same season when he did so in 2015.

Most Consecutive National Championships Won: This untouchable record is held by Todd Lammi who won six straight National Championships between 1999 and 2004. The only other owners to ever even win two consecutive National Championships were George Caballero (’93 & ’94), Ron Bieganowski (’07 & ’08), and Gregg Janoff (’14 & ’15).

Most Consecutive Pennants Won: Between 2002 and 2008, Ron Bieganowski won seven straight pennants in the Ernie Harwell League. Todd Lammi won pennants for nine straight seasons, but those were within three different leagues.

Longest ACTIVE Pennant Winning Streaks: Tony Nosis (four straight in UL4 and three straight in UL3), Rick Garlinghouse (two straight in Super 2), John Thell (two straight in Stan Musial), and David Przybylski (two straight in Al Kaline).

League Longevity Award: Bob Wilfore and Doug Kline have been members of UL4 every year since its inception in 1998. While those 20-year streaks are impressive, there is one other streak that is even more remarkable than that. This season will mark the 27th consecutive season that Andy Bylski has been a member of the Al Kaline League.

Afghanistan Draft:  Back around the year 2000, Paul Soehnlein who was a member of the United States Army had to draft his team live from Afghanistan.  Unfortunately, the conference call draft was scheduled for the same time that Paul had scheduled a deployment.  So Paul changed the time of the mission so that he wouldn’t miss the draft.

Most Unlikely Pennant Winner: In 2011, a current owner, whose name I am withholding in order to protect his privacy, was incarcerated right before the season began. However, he was not deterred. With the help of his future wife, he still drafted his team and reported his transactions for the full season FROM JAIL. Ultimately, he won the league. True story.

Most Ultimate Leagues Pennants Won: Tony Nosis (14), Todd Lammi (11), Gerry Scotto DiMarco (10), Ken Patten (10), and Gregg Janoff (8)

Most Super Megabucks Leagues Pennants Won: Tim Grand (4), Thomas Bonds (3), William Blais (3), and Les Travis (3).

Most Total Pennants Won: Ken Patten (28), Gregg Janoff (21), Gerry Scotto DiMarco (20), Tony Nosis (16), Bob Wilfore (16), Todd Lammi (13), Ken Sommers (13), George Caballero, (11), and Thomas Bonds (10).

Youngest Member in BoxScore Baseball History: Unofficially, it is Hall of Famer Keith Nosis (son of Tony Nosis) who first joined in 1995 when he was just 15 years old.

Oldest Member in BoxScore Baseball History: As far as I can determine, it is Gene Oestricher (Greenberg) whose DOB is Feb. 4, 1934. And I believe the runner-up is Ken Patten (UL2) born on May 8, 1936. Both owners are still current members.

BoxScore Baseball’s Only Female National Champion: Back in 1990, during our initial season, BoxScore Baseball ran two trial leagues exclusively for friends. As it turned out, the two league pennant winners each ended up winning five scoring categories outright and had to be declared co-champions when they tied the last remaining category with 1118 RBI’s apiece. Interestingly, one of those two winners was Bill Philp who four years later became the best man at my wedding and the other was Lynn Schafer who later became my wife.

Comments are closed.